Ako city located at the westernmost point of Hyogo prefecture is known for Ako Roshi (Samurai), salt, and the beautiful scenery of the Setonaikai Sea National Park. In addition to representative spots in the city such as Oishi Shrine and Ako Castle Ruins, we will introduce the streets and superb views of Sakoshi, the gateway to Ako’s ocean, prospered as a port of call for Kitamae Ship.
<Ako Castle Ruins>
Ako castle was a castle built by Mr. Asano which was transferred from Hitachi in 1661 and was a castle of Mr. Asano for three generations, but it was severed by a famous sword case of “Ako Roshi” , Mr. Nagai etc. succeeded to Meiji greeted.
Shrine built in the first year of Taisho, there are 47 Ako Gishi, including Oishi Kuranosuke, as well as Mr. Nagai who succeeded Mr. Asanou Takuminokami and Mr. Asano, are enshrined as gods. A stone statue of 47 Ako Roshi donated by the people of descendants of the masters are lined up on the approach.
<Ako History Museum>
The Ako City History Museum is nicknamed “Hall of Salt and Gishi”, which was built in 1989 (1989). It is permanently displayed in four themes, Ako’s salt, Ako’s castle and castle town, Ako Gishi, and former Ako water supply. This museum is located in the rice storehouse of Ako castle and it seems that five consecutive white rice grains are built from the castle side.
Ako Misaki walks through the Iwatsuhime shrine and the boardwalk, looks at the beautiful view of the Setonaikai, takes a hot spring while watching the ocean at Ako hot spring, can taste the seafood for the happiness of the sea, swim in the summer and enjoy various ways to enjoy It is place. Ako Misaki was also chosen as one hundred Japanese sunsets, and for the sunset appreciation it is recommended that the “seats of the good scenery” next to the Torii of the Iwatsuhime Shrine is sunk (the setting sun sets towards the sea and the beautiful landscape is It is the time of autumn to early spring seen). In the spring, 1,700 cherry blossoms are in full bloom.
<Three pieces of Oishi Kuranosuke statue in Ako city>
There is a statue of appearance for journey in the East Osaki Observatory Plaza, second is in Ako Oishi shrine as Kamishimo (ceremonial dress at Edo period) and third is at in front of the Rotary of Ako station as scolding figure raising the commandment on the right.
<Hyogo Prefectural Ako Seaside Park>
It is a family park built in the former vast watershed salt field in the west of Ako Misaki in July 1982. There are tennis courts, amusement parks (exciting lands), auto camping sites, marine science halls, salt nations (restored salt fields), etc. in an area of 71.7 h. In the green full of nature, the seasonal flowers blossom and you can observe many birds. An artificial lake in the park is a rare brackish lake which is taken in through the Chikusa RIver mouth and is unusual in the whole country, and sea fish inhabits.
<The Streets of Sakoshi>
Sakoshi is a port town that continues from ancient times, a legend stating that Mr. Hatano Kawakatsu who was active along with Prince Shotoku escaped difficulties and drifted. Many old buildings with white walls and lattice windows are left in the port town, and you can remember the atmosphere at that time. On the main street passing from the harbor to the Chikusagawa river, there are “Sakoshi Townscape House”, “Okutou Sake brewery local museum”, and cafes where the town house has been refurbished.
<Former Sakoshiura Kaisho>
It is a building which was completed in 1832 as Tenpo as the Pouring Office which handles administrative and other affairs. In 1930, it was greatly renovated as a Sakoshi public hall. The dismantling restoration work was carried out in 1994 and it is now open to the public.
The god of deity is Hatano Kawakatsu, Amaterasu no Okami and Kasuga no Okami, the time of establishment is not certain. It is reported that the creation of a shrine is the fact that Mr. Hatano Kawakatsu died in the third year 647, then the villagers built a shrine and worshiped it. According to Harima County auspicious, it seems that it was a powerful shrine in 1182. The current main shrine was rebuilt in 1769, the hall of worshipers and the shrine was rebuilt in 1746. There are more than 40 votive pictures in the Ema-do of the hall of worshipers. The ship ema depicting the Kitamae ship, which has more than a dozen pieces, well tells us that Sakagoshi was prosperous in the shipbuilding industry. Some are precious things 280 years ago. The festival to be held in the autumn “Sakoshi Ship Festival” was designated as an important intangible folk cultural property of the country in 2012.
It is a small island around 1.63 km off the coast of Sakoshiura. It is said that it was named as “Ikishima” because Hatano Kawakatsu, also a god of great shrine, avoids persecution of Sogano Iruka and arrived this island of Sakoshiura. So this island is named as Living Island (Ikishima).
From the ancient times, Ikishima was a shrine place, and it was feared that entering the island as much as there was a hint of tradition. With such faith, the forest was kept in the state of primitive forest. It is an academically precious island designated as a special natural treasure of the country in Taisho era as “Ikushima Forest”.
<Myoken-Ji Temple Kannon Hall>
Myoken-ji Temple is a Shingon sect temple located in Mt. Hoju on Sakoshi. Sakoshi Bay and Ikushima seen from the Kannon hall built using slopes are superb. Cherry blossoms is beautiful in spring and autumn leaves are beautiful in autumn.
<View from the summit of Mt. Hoju>
From the summit of Mt. Hoju you can see the Sakoshi town, Ikishima and Sakoshi Bay. You can go to the summit by car, but please be careful as the road is not thinned and paved.